Skip to content

The Devils I Know

April 19, 2010


This series is something between excorcism and butterfly collection. The fears and troubles expressed in the series are very real, but the drawings trap them under glass and turn them from sources of fear into objects of curiosity. These seven ‘Devils’ are allegories, ideas given human form. Depression, Aggression, Fear, Loneliness, Insecurity, and Narcissism are among the more easily named. However the issues at play behind these drawings are individual, more complicated and particular than a generalisation such as ‘Fear’ or ‘Depression’ could express, so none of the pieces have been so literally named.

Fairy tales, comic books, and films have all contributed to the symbolistic vocabulary I used in drawing out these allegories. Some of the more dominant themes were inspired by Hindu paintings, Christian crucifixion imagery, and art of the Mayan, Egyptian and Haida traditions. I list them as influences because they have each held a long-standing fascination for me and their effects on these images were clear to me both after the fact and during the process, but I didn’t set out to adapt, interpret or quote any of them specifically. That sort of deliberation was reserved for the few symbols drawn directly from specific life experiences.

Each of the Devils can be properly seen in in my portfolio, the images here are details. The original 16in x 20in drawings in pencil, felt-tip pen and alcohol marker, were displayed in a solo show at Argyle Fine Art in Halifax, Nova Scotia from April to May 2009. A few of these pieces are still available for sale, please email me to inquire.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. MacLean permalink
    April 21, 2010 2:52 pm

    Sick. I want to murder you and eat your brain and cut off your hands and then cut off my hands and then sew your hands to my arm stumps.

    Just for fun though, not cuz’ I think doing so will make me draw like you.

  2. April 25, 2010 3:38 pm

    I do not want to cut off your hands…maybe just eat you… (like in the Patrick Süskind’book: Perfume).
    Amazing drawings, Peter. I really really love these ones.
    Congratulations, because there’s a brain guiding your hand.
    Or maybe there is a devil guiding it.
    It really does not matter.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

