Skip to content

How To Catch A Giant Hand

December 2, 2011

©2011 Peter Diamond

In the last month and a half, my work has been hampered by the onset of what I’m calling Artist’s Elbow (epicondylitis, of both the lateral and medial sorts as far as I can tell), and as a result several running illustrations have been slow coming to fruition. This one, the 5 of Diamonds for the second edition of  Zeixs Publishing’s ’52 Aces’ card deck, may well be my last drawing of 2011. I hope to be able to give the old drawing arm some rest for the Holidays.

While unintentional, I find the content of the image amusingly fitting considering my current trouble. This project came with near total creative freedom, and I think the hand imagery was more about the number 5 than it was about epicondylitis (I certainly would have had a harder time coming up with elbow ideas) but nevertheless I have to wonder if there isn’t a subconscious relationship. In fact this is the second consecutive Disembodied Hand image I’ve done this month, I plan to post the other shortly. I do seem to have a thing for Addams-esque hand creatures, but I suspect their repeated appearance in my work of late is likely not pure chance.

The geometric background is a departure for me, brought on by the perspective drawing classes I was teaching last month at Illuskills. I think it’s a nice counterpoint to the organic forms and wobbly linework I like to use, and I will likely explore it further.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2011 7:25 pm

    Take care of your elbow and get well soon! Btw, I’m looking forward to see more “geometry vs organic forms”, it works very well on this image.

  2. Jay permalink
    September 10, 2012 9:59 pm

    Peter: Have you considered Reflexology? As a certified Reflexologist, I sense that would be of great help to you for your Artist Elbow. Were I in Vienna (Love that City), I’d most certainly work on you…

    • September 10, 2012 10:37 pm

      The elbow is much better, thanks Jay. We’ve sorted out the cause and put it right:)

  3. January 19, 2013 6:21 pm

    fabulous illustration!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,540 other followers

